Our next destination was the Catacombe dei Cappuccini, or the Capuchin Catacombs, but it did not open until 3:00pm, after the lunch break. So, we continued to explore the surrounding area. As we made our way through the streets, we came upon a shop that made traditional Sicilian puppets!
The Palazzo Dagnino is also known as the Palazzo Notarbartolo di Villarosa, and was built by Francesco Paolo Notarbartolo Giacchetto, who was the Duke of Villarosa. It later became the famous Albion Hotel, a luxury establishment that hosted kings and celebrities from around the world.
The Chiesa di Santa Maria degli Angeli, also known as La Gancia, dates from 1490.
As we walked, we stumbled upon another tiny church that was open, and so, we went inside. The church, the Chiesa dei Cocchieri, is at Via Alloro, #133, and dates from 1596, when it was built as a chapel for prayer on top of already existing burial crypts.
According to legend, the statue of the Madonna, adorning the main altar, was found after a rescue at sea, and it is supposedly responsible for a number of miracles that have occurred since that day.
It was possible to visit the crypt of the church, and so, we headed down the stairs, into the underground space. The crypt is made up of multiple rooms, and contains 90 niches that held the remains of the members of the religious order that founded the church.
Next up: We finish our visit at the crypt of the Chiesa dei Cocchieri, and then, head over to the Capuchin Catacombs!
Note: This blog is written in English and Spanish, and the author takes no responsibility for the quality of any other translations that may appear. If you have enjoyed this post, please, check out our archives for more posts from Palermo, as well as other Italian destinations. Grazie!