The Scoletta dell’Arte dei Tiraoro e Battioro, found next to the Chiesa di Sant’Eustachio, dates from 1711, and was the home of the Guild of Artists, as well as makers of gold thread and gold leaf. Here, the 48 members of the Guild would train others in their craft. The Scoletta functioned until 1798, at which time the building became state property. It is now privately owned.
The Chiesa di Sant’Eustachio, or San Stae, as it is more commonly known, was designed by Domenico Rossi in 1709.
The church’s bell tower, or campanile, can be seen along the side street, and it is worth making a note of.
The two gates pictured above led onto property owned by the Università Iuav di Venezia. Founded in 1926, this was one of the very first schools of architecture in Italy. It also offers degrees in fashion and the performing arts, as well as in visual arts.
The Istituto Comprensivo Statale Francesco Morosini, housed in Palazzo Carminati, was founded as a secondary school in 1882.
The Casino di Venezia is housed in Ca’ Vendramin Calergi, which sits on the Grand Canal. The palazzo also houses a museum dedicated to Richard Wagner, who died here in 1883. The building dates from 1481, and was designed by Mauro Codussi.
Next up: We pay a visit to the beautiful Church of San Giacomo dall’Orio, as we continue to explore Venice!
Note: This blog is written in English and Spanish, and the author takes no responsibility for the quality of any other translations that may appear. If you have enjoyed this post, please, check out our archives for more posts from Venice, as well as other Italian destinations. Grazie!